Posted by: Mrs. HSH | July 28, 2010

Picture Window…Too much view?

My husband, God love him, likes to walk around in his underwear. There are some good pairs and some not-so-good pairs. And while I think his butt is pretty cute (as I have a pretty good view through some of the not-so-good pairs), my neighbors with the five- and three-year olds might not share this opinion.

So, what to do about the large picture window in our front room? Our neighborhood is urban, despite the suburban tree-lined charm. Our homes are fairly close together, and sitting at my dining room table I can actually see what my neighbors are watching on TV (helps that they have a 52’’ screen).

When we first moved in, I covered the bedroom and bathroom windows with some cheap IKEA curtains. Not long after that, we bit the bullet and sprung for plantation shutters for most of our windows. However, we have one large, rectangular picture window in our dining room and I cannot, for the life of me, decide what to do with it. If the eyes are the window to the soul, this window is the Facebook page (the frequent-poster kind) to our life. 

My struggle is that this window is not only large, but oddly shaped. Our house is small and the large windows are its spacial saving grace! I do love the concept of a large, open window. There are several homes in our neighborhood that have not covered up. Most have a classic leather chair and Tiffany-style lamp on display through the glass, and no hole-y boxers to be seen.

But in fact, many of them do not show much sign of life at all through the looking glass. We spend most of our time in front of that picture window, eating or reading mail or arguing about what to watch on TV. So the search is on for some appropriate covering…so that we – or, more appropriately, HE – might not have to cover up.

Leave a Reply

Categories

