Posted by: Mrs. HSH | June 6, 2011

What the Hell is Shoe Molding?

I find myself asking this question in so many different scenarios these days.

What the hell is this, and how come I didn’t know about that?

One would think that it wouldn’t be too difficult to name the various elements that make up a kitchen. A sink, stove and refrigerator are all pretty recognizable and idiot-proof examples. However, I’m beginning to realize there is much more than meets the eye in your basic domestic kitchen.

Our latest dilemma is over our soon-to-be installed hardwood flooring. When we purchased our Brazilian teak hardwood flooring (love it, by the way) from Lumber Liquidators, we also picked up some T- moldings, which are the transition pieces that connect different flooring together.

Although, I hadn’t really thought about this piece, I knew it was something we needed. I’m now also finding out that there is a piece of molding called ‘shoe molding.’ This piece is also referred to as a ‘quarter round,’ and it generally goes underneath cabinets and along walls to bridge the cap between flooring, cabinet or wall. Our latest dilemma revolves around what color shoe molding to use.

Match the floor, or the baseboard?

We have both teak and white in our arsenal (my husband is always prepared!), but I can’t decide which to match: the floor or the baseboard. Honestly, I’m having a hard time deciding if I care at this point! I’m bridging on decision overload!

Responses

  1. Stay the course. If you overload now we might as well use $1000 bills to wipe after the potty.

  2. […] you must be on your game, ordering all your materials ahead of time and making them readily available for installation. One small delay can derail […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

