Posted by: Mrs. HSH | June 9, 2011

What lies…above?

Our electrician was up in the attic recently working on the re-wiring of our kitchen when I realized that I’d actually never been up there. The access porthole is through my closet. I’m always looking at the door, just hadn’t ever opened it! I couldn’t help myself, and crawled up the latter and poked my head up. And, this is what I saw:

Pretty creepy, huh!

My curiosity has been peaked ever since a recent encounter with our neighbors. Our neighbors to the back (the ones that used to share our garden wall) finished a major home addition several months back.  They extended their house by about 400 square feet, adding a master bedroom and bath, eating up much of their backyard. In our conversation, our neighbor mentioned we were lucky to have such a large attic and that they’d wanted to build up, but didn’t have the attic space.

 Hmmm….master bedroom and bathroom….

Our house is a delightfully adequate 1216 square feet — for the two of us. However, if we ever contemplate increasing the size of our family, our little love nest might turn into a petite little pain in the ass! 

I know, I know.  We’re not even done with the kitchen!  A girl can dream, can’t she?

(I’m sure Jon is having a coronary as he reads this!)

Leave a Reply

Categories

