Posted by: Mrs. HSH | January 4, 2012

2012

Call me crazy, but I love making New Year’s Resolutions.  I’m sure that part of the reason is due to the fact that it has something to do with making a list – an enjoyed activity in our household. But, I also like the optimism of it all. There is an entire year ahead and you can vow to do things differently, better, stronger.  In the beginning, it’s anyone’s game. Sure as the months roll on, time will tell if you’re truly sticking to your convictions. But in the beginning, the world is your oyster (have no idea where that analogy comes from, but seems fitting here).

So, here’s to it! The following are my 2012 resolutions. **One small caveat**  Due to a wicked (and I mean wicked) case of the stomach flu over the holidays, I have somehow managed not to put on my typical five pounds of Christmas cookies this year. Consider that resolution checked off the list!

Save More Money –   This resolution seems to sneak back on my list every year. It’s not that we don’t save money, but I think  I need an annual reminder that retirement is only 33 years away, and counting. I also think it’s much more rewarding to save for a project or a trip. It’s all the more satisfying when you actually buy that plane ticket or tile that laundry room!

Explore Creativity – I have a lot of ideas. And, that’s usually where my creativity ends. It’s admittedly hard to find time for everything:  work, relaxation, time with friends and family, health, etc.  BUT, if I have time to devote to this blog, I can certainly find time to be more creative.

Exercise Patience – I am the first to admit that I am not very patient. In fact, impatient would probably be a word I’d use to describe myself.  However, I am beginning to realize that things aren’t always better in the immediate. This is going to be one I have to work on!

Write More – I spend a fair amount of time drafting letters, analysis and reports for my “real” job. So, sometimes it’s not always the first thing I want to do when I get home at the end of the day. However, I love to write and I need to do more of it. It’s one of my lesser-known passions, but a great one all the same!

Never Stop Traveling – I don’t need a reminder for this one. But, I like to keep my eye on the prize. New Zealand 2012! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

