Posted by: Mrs. HSH | February 1, 2012

Pinning, Posting, Blogging, Tweeting….

Random thoughts not related to home-improvement or travel…

What is this blog coming to??

I recently joined Pinterest and spend a good two hours “pinning” this past Saturday morning. For those of you that aren’t familiar with the newest social media time suck, Pinterest is basically the Facebook of shopping. Instead of sharing posts about what you ate for breakfast or pictures of your latest vacation, Pinterest allows you to create online picture wish lists of things you’ve found on the internet. According to their website, Pinterest “lets you organize and share all the beautiful things you find on the web. People use pinboards to plan their weddings, decorate their homes, and organize their favorite recipes.”

My 'For the Home' Pinboard

So now instead of sharing 140 character long random thoughts or pictures of that delicious cake you baked, we are sharing ideas of that gorgeous home we want, beautiful blouse we are lusting after, or perfect party we will plan.

At some point, I’m wondering if anything will be left off the internet. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a semi-avid Facebook poster and I’m not one of those people who abhor social media, by any means. In fact, I’m beginning to think I’m a bit addicted to it. Working in politics, I’ve also found that Twitter can be an invaluable tool. It’s free self promotion for politicians/ special interest, easy gossip and instant communication all in one. In fact, I have an official twitter handle for my job, although I admittedly rarely use it. And then of course there is this blog which started out as my outlet for all those bottled up home improvement creative thoughts, but has evolved into my online travel journal/ creative writing workshop. So, I am not one to talk about over sharing.

However, I’m beginning to wonder if life wasn’t better when there was still some mystery involved. Does posting ‘happy birthday’ on someone’s Facebook page substitute for picking up the phone? Does sharing pinboards of coveted earrings replace a shopping outing with your girlfriends? By sharing more, are we interacting less?

Leave a Reply

Categories

